UNB Male Athlete of the Year (Dr. James Downey Shield Award)

This award is presented to the best male athlete as selected from
the MVPs of each of UNB's male varsity teams.

The winner reprersents UNB as the school's candidate for conference Male Athlete of the year.

The conference winner advances as a candidate for CIAU/CIS/USPORTS Male Athlete of the Year
competing against the winners from the other three conferences; Canada West, OUA-East and OUA-West.

The national Male & Female Athlete of the Year award is currently marketed as the BLG Awards
(the sole sponsor is the law firm of Borden Ladner Gervais LLP)

2017 - Philippe Maillet  
2016 - Jordan Murray     
2017 - Philippe Maillet  
2012 - Jon Harty         
2010 - Hunter Tremblay   
2009 - Dustin Frieson    
2008 - Rob Henniger      
2007 - Rob Hennigar      
2001 - Craig Minard *    
1999 - Dax Maclean       
1995 - Todd Sparks *     
1992 - Chris Somers (G)  
1987 - Eddie Trail       
1985 - Mark Jeffery      
1984 - Kevin Rochford (G)

* co-winner

Copyright © 2017
Free use provided proper credit to all sources is provided.